Cookies help website users perform certain functions. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

If you wish, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Schools Student Bursary Award

€6,000 Pat Jones Student Bursary Award

CLCU is offering secondary school students, the opportunity to win up to €6,000 towards their 3rd level college education. Aimed at students currently studying for the Leaving Cert, the winning student of the Pat Jones Bursary Award, will receive €2,000 per year, for 3 years in 3rd level education. Applicants for the Bursary must be pursuing 3rd level education in the forthcoming 2017/2018 academic year and courses may be in Ireland or abroad.

Each year, St Mary’s Secondary & Oakland’s Community College are asked to nominate 4 students for this prestigious award. All nominated students are then interviewed by management of the Credit union and one lucky winner will receive the prize of €2,000 per year for 3 years.

Please download the application form and submit to your school on or before March 31, 2017.

Click to DownloadDownload Bursary App Form (547.7kb)

Interviews will take place in early May and in June 2017, all 8 nominees will be invited to a gala dinner, where the winner will be announced. The remaining 7 nominees will each be presented with a prize from CLCU.

Pat Jones Bursary Award


1. Entry is open to pupils attending either Second level School and pursuing 3rd Level Education in the coming academic year.

2. Applicants must be members of Croí Laighean Credit Union

3. Children of Management, Staff, Directors, Supervisors of Croí Laighean Credit Union, are not eligible for the Bursary Award

4. Children of staff & Board of Management of participating schools are not eligible.

5. Evidence of enrolment to 3rd level institution will be required on an annual basis prior to the Bursary Award being issued.

6. All nominees must be willing to commit to 4 hours voluntary work per month with Croí Laighean Credit Union.

7. The judges’ decision will be final. No correspondence will be entered into. The winner will be announced at an Awards ceremony in June.

Check out our pictures from 2016

Student Bursary Award Winner 2016

CLCU Member, Avril Holton from Carbury was announced as the winner of the 4th annual Pat Jones Bursary Award at a gala dinner in Larkins Bistro on June 24.

Paul Kennedy, CEO, presented Avril with a cheque for €2,000 towards her 1st year as a student of Law & French in Trinity College, with a further €4,000 to be provided over the next 2 years.

Both secondary schools were asked to nominate 4 students. Oaklands Community College nominated Marta Diaz, Helena Munnelly, Shauna Bannon Ward and Ritchie Parish while St. Mary’s Secondary School nominated David Kelly, Faye Duggan, Eoin Farrell and winner Avril Holton.

In addition to the 8 finalists and their families, the Board of Directors and staff of the CLCU also attended the Awards dinner together with the Jones family and representatives from Oaklands Community College and St. Mary’s Secondary School

Paul Kennedy welcomed all the finalists and their families and thanked everyone involved in making the Awards such a success. All the students were then invited on stage for a short interview and Margaret Jones presented each nominee with a pack containing a Visa Debit Card with a €350 balance and a commemorative pen.

Former winners Darren Walsh, Stephen Mooney & Georgia Dempsey all spoke about their experience in college and thanked the Credit Union for their support. They told of how winning the bursary had helped them with their college education and allowed them to stay on Campus.

The Bursary Award was set up in memory of the late Pat Jones, a voluntary Member of the Supervisory Committee for many years. Education was very important to Pat and these awards were introduced in his honour in 2013.

Avril Holton, winner of the 2016 Student Bursary Award pictured with Margaret Jones.

Edenderry Branch
  • Tel:
  • Address:
  • 046 9731755
  • O'Connell Square, Edenderry, Co. Offaly
Coill Dubh Branch
  • Tel:
  • Address:
  • 045 860 554
  • Coill Dubh, Naas Co. Kildare

Clane Carbury Allenwood Prosperous Robertstown

Click here for all branches contact details and opening hours

Croí Laighean Credit Union Ltd is Regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. Reg No. 163CU